In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

A prevailing trend of modern societies is the dominance of Western garment over traditional ones, with conflicting views on whether it is favorable or not. One opinion claims that western outfits appeal to millennials or even the members of previous generations due to their materials and appearance.

Advocates of this believe that the high-quality fabric of jeans and chinos, accompanied by the timeless looks, means that these items of clothing can be worn on various occasions. If a young adult wants to have a night out, he or she can put on a good pair of denim jeans or even khaki pants and still feel comfortable as well as fashionable. The variety of wash, color, and cut also permit a considerable degree of flexibility, which ensures wide availability of designs to choose from.

However, there are points of view that express the underlying downsides of this tendency. Although wedding suits and bridal gown can serve as formal attire for marriage ceremonies, traditional outfits for such occasion can fade into oblivion as a result. For instance, Vietnamese newlyweds often opt for black and white wedding event instead of the old traditional one that involves red for the bride and blue for the groom.

From a personal perspective, both western clothing and native clothing can exist side-by-side to offer the best options for the preference of the wearers. Not every one of any nations will choose to have their wedding to be suit-and-tie. Besides, people who do not follow fashion trends are free to choose whatever they like, whether it is local or western, and those who are into the image that western suits project are free to wear them as well.

In conclusion, western garments attract worldwide attention because of not only the quality but also the impression they leave. I believe this does not mean the death of local cultures but rather the growth of cultural diversity.