In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

With the advancement of science and medicine, people are enjoying a longer life than before and in many countries, people are well aware of the population growth and as a result having only one kid or two. These reasons lead the fact that in many countries, the proportion of older people is growing faster. This has both the positive and negative effects.

At first, older people are more experienced and can contribute largely by counselling the young generation. There are some professions like teaching where an experienced teacher can be more benevolent than a young teacher. Again, older people are the witness of the history and they can reveal the past to us more practically than others. Finally, since young members of a family are busy outside and cannot manage time to share with kids, so the older people can be good companions to those kids and can help them to raise in a family environment rather than in a day-care- centre.

On the contrary, in some society older people are considered to be burden especially in those areas where people suffer from extreme poverty. Older people require more attention and extra care and the touch of relatives. But because of generation gap and poverty, they are often ignored and that's a horrible experience for them. Again, naturally aged people can't do much physical labour and that's why they have fewer practical contributions to the society compared to their young counterparts.

Considering all the issues , though it might seem little harsh but I think that a considerable portion of older people can be helpful for all of us but if it's reach to an extreme proportion then it's a bad omen both for the new generation and the old people themselves.