In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Could this trend have more positive or negative effects on society?

It is apparent that the number of elderly people is growing steadily across many nations. This development is ultimately harmful for two main reasons: putting a strain on the state budget and causing about-force shortages.

Firstly, an older population can put pressure on the country’s budget. Since the elderly are more prone to serious and often costly ailments such as heart diseases and strokes than younger citizens, more funding needs to be allocated to the healthcare system. Consequently, expenditures on other sectors, such as education and defense, will be decreased so as to support the aging population. Little financial resources could adversely impact the significant advancements that could be made in such fields, which would therefore have a negative impact on the country’s socioeconomic development.

Secondly, the increasing number of older people can damage the nation’s workforce. Because elderly people are not as mentally and physically capable as younger people, a majority of them lose the ability to contribute to the country’s economic growth. At the same time, without an adequate number of working-age citizens to replace the aging population, the workforce will be shrunk, further impeding economic development. In the case of blue-collar jobs, a declining labor force can be observed - as workers age, they can no longer perform such physically demanding professions. Hence, they are more likely to be laid off, diminishing the local workforce.

In conclusion, the expanding number of senior citizens is apparently a negative development since it can place a burden on the country’s budget and reduce the productivity of the labor force.