In many countries, there is a shortage of housing due to growing population. Some people argue that new towns should be built in the countryside, others argue for the regeneration of cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of building new towns in the country side?

In today’s fast-paced life, the trend of the increasing population has accelerated the problem of housing availability at an exponential rate. Some like-minded people foster this thinking that new cities should be developed on the outskirts, while others oppose this idea. However, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages, before reaching a conclusion. The following paragraphs tend to highlight some important aspects of this issue.

There are numerous arguments surrounding my viewpoint, but the most important factor that needs to be considered is that setting up new towns in the countryside will not only contribute to economic housing but also lead to several other benefits in various fields. In other ,words it is asserted that the creation of new towns helps in enhancing the living conditions of citizens by reducing pressure on natural resources, providing better infrastructure and lower pollution levels. For example, in cities like Toronto, where the houses are super expensive to afford, the development of other clustered towns in the catchment, has made owning a home in the vicinity of Toronto quite affordable. Therefore redeveloping the countryside as new cities play a vital role in society.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make an opposing case. Critics argue that setting up towns in the outskirts is only likely to have a negative impact by disturbing the ecological balance caused by deforestation. Needless to say along with the wide range of demerits it offers, more cities at outer locations also aids in the reduction of land available for agriculture, which has very serious repercussions on society as farming is the primary source of food and several raw materials required for the industry. For instance, lesser land for agriculture will cause scarcity of food supplies and inflation. Thus, creating sub towns plays a negative role as well.

In the light of the above discussion, it is fair and justifiable to say that setting up new urban areas in the periphery of main cities have both positive as well as negative impact on society. However, the benefits outshine their drawbacks.