In many countries today people in cities either live alone or in small family units rather than in large extended family groups Is this a positive or negative trend

Nowadays, society has developed rapidly and many people in cities prefer living individually or in small families to living with their parents and grandparents. I believe this is a positive trend. Firstly, this essay will discuss, living alone can help people develop themselves. Secondly, it will discuss the positive changes and improvements in the mental health of adults.

First, living alone changes young people to be mature, responsible adults. They can improve many soft skills which can not be practiced while living with large or extended families. According to a survey conducted by the University of Economics Ho Chi Minh City, 80% of the students faced a lot of difficulties when they moved out of their parent's homes. It's due to their dependence on their parents. For instance, a mother can train a child in survival skills such as cooking skills or going groceries, etc and these skills can be developed well just when living alone.

Second, people can develop their unique individuality. Most adults usually just take care of their physical health, not mental health. When living individually, they have a space to relax and look at themselves, their soul. It helps people to know themselves, and have self-assuredness. For instance, many studies of Yale University suggest that people taking care of themselves have good mental health and work more efficiently. This lifestyle is more and more popular, which is favored by the young.

In summary, in my view, there are many more positive elements than negative, as there are clear benefits to individuals living alone or in small family units. So, those living away from large groups can develop survival skills ad take care of their mental health.