In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It has become more common than ever for urban residents to live by themselves or with only one or two family members. Although this lifestyle may bring certain drawbacks, they are far outweighed by the many benefits.

The potential disadvantages of living with very few family members, or even alone, can be easily avoided through better planning. It is true that housing costs are on the rise, meaning that smaller families or individuals will have to shoulder an ever-increasing financial burden without the help of their relatives. This could lead to parents spending less time with their children just to provide for their household, or to young workers facing serious health issues stemming from overwork. However, this is discounting the fact that such problems most often arise through poor financial planning.

That is to say, those on a tighter budget should rent accommodation instead of going into debt to pay for a house, while parents ought to better plan for when to have children.

Shrinking household sizes can be beneficial both to young parents and to those living on their own. Regarding the former, living separately from other family members can give parents the final say on how to raise their kids as they see fit. This is especially beneficial in my country, Vietnam, where grandparents often interfere, and side with their grandchildren when they are being disciplined, potentially spoiling them. Similar freedoms can also be enjoyed by those living in solitude. This is because having a place of one's own affords a person the luxury to dictate their own work and life schedule without fear of bothering anyone. This would allow people to be more flexible with their work, ultimately helping them achieve a better work-life balance.

In conclusion, the theoretical drawbacks of living in smaller family units or completely alone are minimal and avoidable, while doing so can afford people more control over their own lives. For the aforementioned reasons, I contend that this is an overall positive trend.