In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Cities are seeing an increase of people who live alone or in small families, while extended families are rarely. These changes are a negative development.

As families become smaller, the traditional family support network is disappearing, and this can have a negative impact on children as they grow up. For example, parents in nuclear families are facing childcare problems, it becomes an expensive and stressful part of daily life. Without the help of grandparents or relatives, busy parents must rely on babysitters, caregivers, or nannies. The absence of an adult’s family member means that friends, television, and the internet become the primary influence on children’s behavior. It is no surprise that children without the care of parents are extremely different. Perhaps it will have a rise in psychological and behavioral problems.

The trend of living in nuclear families is becoming more damaging because of the psychological effects of reduced human interaction. Markedly, individuals who live alone having nobody to talk to, share problems, or discuss any issues that happen in society or in their daily life. They forgot the constant stimulation and hustle and bustle of a large family. Likewise, they cannot live like a normal person for an extended period. Passive distractions such as television, video games, or internet surfing are replacing the lack of human contact. It is associating with boredom, loneliness, and have feelings of isolation or even alienation. It is such a harmful disease as a mental illness.

In conclusion, I believe individuals will thrive in an extended family, so it is worrying that many people choose to live changes are a negative development.