In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extenđe family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is commonly believed that cities are seeing in a smaller families and one - person households while the extended family is becoming a rarity. From my point of view, this is certainly a negative trend as it brings various disadvantages.

Firstly, the trend toward people living alone to perhaps even more damaging because of the psychological effects of reduced human interaction. When people choose to live alone, they will not have a chance to feel the hustle and bustle of a large family. They will be isolated and alienated, thereby they are associated with loneliness. Furthermore, living alone will make them forgo the constant stimulation, as a result of this action may cause dangerous consequences such as: passive distractions, reliance on internet surfing,...Consequently, it will increase the risk of mental illness.

On the other hand, families becoming smaller will have a negative impact on children as they grow up. In a small family, childcare becomes an expensive and stressful part. Without the help of grandparents or aunts and uncles. As a result, younger children will be taken care of by nonnies, whereas older children will be left alone. Moreover, the absence of adult family members makes the internet and television become the primary influence on children’s behavior. And this may lead to the decline of the extended family, thereby a rise in psychological and behavioral problems amongst young people.

To sum up, In my opinion people choose to live alone or in a small family instead of living in an extended family. This is a negative development.