In many countries, truancy is a worrying problem for both parents and educators.

What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

It is true that unpermitted school leaving has challenged both parents and school authorities. There are three main reasons and two major negative impact on children and the society as a whole.

For truancy, parents, schools and governments should be held responsible for. Firstly, parents are not quit as attentive as they used to be. This will provide a gap when children spend more time with their peers than their families causing them to be influenced by peer pressure. Secondly, school programs are not attractive practically. Many compulsory subjects lack what is needed in real life like communication skills. Furthermore, it seems that a great number of teachers are inadequate regarding classroom management and the essential knowledge which even exacerbate the exhaustive school subjects. Thirdly, governments do not provide bright prospective through job creation. Consequently, school children seems to see disappointing future and tend to choose alternatives which in fact will not actualize what they pursue in their lives.

Turning to possible effects, the most negative impact will be on individuals as they fall behind due to losing the precious time of learning the basic knowledge which is essential for continuation of education leading to inability in finding well-paid job potentially create an unpredictable vicious cycle. Not only these children face unwanted problems, the society also is deprived of skilled workers that are integral part of economic progression. Finally, the victims are prone to fall into trap of crimes and violence.

In summary, carless parents, dull school programs and teachers inadequacy are the reasons of truancy while academic professional underachievement are the negative products of uncontrolled school leaving.