In many countries truancy is a worrying problem for both parents and educators What are the causes of truancy and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community

Growing rate of truancy among children is, unquestionably, a concerning issue which needs immediate attention. Numerous factors are responsible for this problem, which surely affect students as well as parents in many ways. Therefore, effective approaches should be adopted to curb this problem.

Starting with the factors, which are triggering this problem exponentially, first one is the lack of interest to study among young children. They are not engaged in practical learning for most of the times, but are forced to acquire bookish knowledge only. They are overburdened with preparing assignments and exhaustive notes. Teaching methodology is obsolete in many schools around the world, which does not make students' s learning an interesting and enjoyable experience.

Besides this, peer pressure is another reason of young pupils being disinterested in attending schools. In adolescence age, children are quite vulnerable and they are, sometimes, swayed away by the activities of their seniors, friends and class- mates. They love to explore a fascinating and carefree lifestyle, so, find attending school a real hindrance in enjoying freedom.

Throwing light on the devastating consequences of this growing trend, first and foremost is that country will lack number of skilled and knowledgeable professionals in the future. Additionally, it will hinder the overall development of a child if he or she skips school at very early age. Without any doubt, they will indulge into anti- social activities if not guided properly.

To conclude, children should be motivated by parents and teachers in many ways to keep their enthusiasm intact for studying in school. Many strategies should be adopted by school managements to make their learning experience more efficient and worth - enjoying.