In some countries, specifically developed countries, many married couples decide to only raise up to two children or choose to not have them at all, as it needs much more money to raise children for their food, school, clothes, insurance and many other considerations. Therefore, nowadays the number of young people is decreasing. However, life expectancy to elderly is raising. Consequently, it is projected that the number of populations in the future will be much dominated by old people. This situation can be either a positive or negative development, but in my opinion the negative outweighs the positive.

Having a longer life expectancy is an evidence to a health conscious society where people live a stress-free life along with making helathy lifestyle choises such as consuming food with amazing nutrients and working out every day for half an hour minimum. In addition, longer life expectancy may also mean a fully functioning healthcare system where people receive immediate treatments for any choronic or terminal diseases, so that, the mortality rate is suppressed in the country. From this development, it can be seen that the government is proven to be successful in improving the health service system in their countries.

However, I would predict that the longer life expectancy can be a massive drawback to the society. The higher number of the older pepulation means the higher number of unemployment due to massive number of retirements. In that case, the government would be forced to allocate much higher expenditures in retirement funds which may cause budget cuts for other developmental costs. This would defenitely slow down the economy of country. Furtheremore, smaller number of younger population would lead to smaller number of productive groups of citizens. For intance, the manufacturing industries would be short-staffed of younger workers and lead to slow manufacturing rate. This situation would very much cripple the companies to be productive which would lead to inabilities for them to make profits. More and more companies, would eventually file for bankcruptcy and nationwide economic catastrophe would knock on the door. The company eventually would not have a positive outlook in the socioeconomic for present year and years after.

In conclusion, although higher number of older population could mean a couple positive progresses, it would also mean slowing down major sectors for the sustainability of the countries. This situation can lead to an economy collapse which have impact to massive populations.