Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It has been becoming popular for people to keep the elderly in nursing homes. While I can acknowledge the benefits of this trend, I believe that its drawbacks are far more significant.

The first merit of sending seniors to care homes is its positive effects on their physical health. Those medical institutions, specialized facilities, devices and well-trained staff available in nursing homes might be capable of solving health problems of the old who can easily get sick. That the aging people are in care homes and access to high quality healthcare systems can also reduce burdens and strains put on their adult children, who play the role of caregivers. However, the institutionalization of old people would create more pressure for the public medical system such as the demand for more healthcare infrastructures and specialists. In addition, sending the elderly to nursing homes may cause financial pressure to their family. The exorbitant fees needed for full-time care and up-to-date facilities will financially burden the adult family members, especially those who are engaged in their livelihoods to accommodate the costly living expenses.

Another advantage of admitting the elders to care homes is the possibilities of improving their mental health. Some old people could feel lonely in their homes due to the generation gap and their offspring might also be too occupied with their own work to spend time with them. Thus, being in a place with people of their age, who share the same time growing up with them, they will have opportunities for socializing and will achieve a sense of community. Despite that upside, being at care homes, the old are likely to face loneliness as they have to leave far from their beloved offspring. Once this happens, it can turn to unwanted depression and mental breakdown. In some cases, people suffering from brain diseases might even lose their memories about family.

In conclusion, while keeping old people in nursing homes can enhance their physical and mental health in some way, it is my firm conviction that the disadvantages, including its costly price and potential depression from homesickness, are much greater.