Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

It has been becoming popular for people to keep the elderly in nursing homes. While I can acknowledge the benefits of this trend, I believe that its drawbacks are far more significant.

The first merit of sending seniors to care homes is its positive effects on their physical health. Those medical institutions, specialized facilities, devices and well-trained staff available in nursing homes might be capable of solving health problems of the old who can easily get sick. However, the exorbitant fees needed for such full-time care and up-to-date facilities will put financial burden and stress on the adult family members, especially those who are engaged in their livelihoods to accommodate the costly living expenses. This means that while they are trying to give their parents the best living conditions, they fail to take care of their own physical and mental well-being.

Another advantage of admitting the elders to care homes is the possibilities of improving their mental health. In fact, some old people now spend their whole day staying alone at home due to their offspring’s hectic schedule of work and study. Thus, being in a place with people of their age, who share the same time growing up with them, they will have opportunities for socializing and will achieve a sense of community. Despite that upside, the homesickness that the elderly may face when being at care homes is much more significant. They are likely to suffer from a negative feeling of loneliness or even being abandoned because of the physical distance with their family. Once this happens, it can turn to unwanted depression and mental breakdown.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that keeping old people in nursing homes can enhance their physical and mental health in some way. However, it is my firm conviction that the demerits, including its costly price and potential depression from homesickness, are much greater.