Schools should focus more on teaching students how to succeed in the world of work and less on how to succeed academically. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some countries, school curriculums are academically intensive and scarce practical skills are included. Therefore, numerous people contend that school should lessen knowledge that helps students to succeed in examinations and pay more attention to train work skills beneficial for children in the future. While teaching fundamental career knowledge is of importance as it gives opportunities for lower-academical-attaining students, I would argue that academic knowledge is indispensable to facilitate the success of students when growing up.

On the one hand, building career skills for students allows children with less talent in academics to have a certain foundation for starting to work when they finish high school. To be more specific, employers frequently recruit workers with high achievement at school or practical experience and career knowledge. Therefore, students who are not gifted in academic performance, in a bid to get the job, have to attend vocational schools or classes in order to be trained in work skills, which could be considered to be time-consuming and costly. Were these skills to be taught in high school curriculums, the students could save their time and begin earning immediately after graduation.

On the other hand, academic knowledge should be maintained to be taught at school since it is beneficial for children in their future careers. First and foremost, it forms students' logical thinking, which not only for the sake of examination, but also for tackling daily and professional problems. More specifically, when having to deal with difficult situations, everyone would come up with their own resolutions, however, people whose logical thinking have been practiced continuously by solving academic problems would frequently resolve the problem in a more effective and simple way. Additionally, high-achieving students also have more advantages than the lower ones when seeking jobs in today's competitive market. For plenty of employers, bachelor 's degree is a vital standard that the candidates have to meet, since it qualifies their educational levels.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that learning how to attain success in the future is important for students, I would maintain that they should also be taught to gain their academic knowledge for numerous reasons. One of which is that higher academic levels assist students in their future life and their dream pursuing process.