schools should focus more on teaching students how to succeed in the world of work and less on how to succeed academically. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that schools should emphasize more on training students to be well-rounded employees and less on promoting academic achievements. I partly agree with this argument due to the following reasons.

To begin with, I agree that schools should concentrate more on educating and orienting students to be successful employees. Although academic achievement gained at school is merely a part leading to success in real life, many schools place excessive emphasis on teaching students theory and somehow disregard to equip them with practical knowledge. If students want to be outstanding workers who attract the attention of renowned companies, they will have to develop their soft skills such as communication, negotiation, and persuasion instead of just concentrate on passing the exams with flying colours. For example, in case students dream of being a successful businessman, they can not only depend on school subjects such as microeconomics and macroeconomics. It is obvious that they also need to have a good grasp of negotiation and persuasion skills to deal with their partners and customers. For another instance, Vietnamese schools seem to be obsessed with the academic achievements of students. Thus, they just strive to train students to be proficient in the academic domain and neglect the importance of practical skills. As a result, Vietnamese graduates often have difficulty in adapting themselves to real circumstances. Hence, schools should emphasize more on equipping students with the savvy to achieve success in work.

However, I do not approve that schools should concentrate less on assisting students to achieve academic success. Although knowledge acquisition is not the only factor that contributes to success in work, it is a fundamental foundation for success. Without having a thorough grasp of theoretical learning, students will have difficulty in practising and working in real life, so it is significant for schools to stimulate students to excel in schools. For example, a doctor is a very demanding job that requires much academic learning and rigorous training. If students do not study academic theories well, they can make serious mistakes such as incorrect diagnosis and ineffective treatment.

To sum up, I partly approve of the viewpoint that teachers should concentrate more on training students to become the first-class worker in the workforce due to the above-mentioned reason. Nonetheless, they should not care less about stimulating students to gain academic success.