Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, it has been common to admit the old in care homes. While it can benefit some people, its potential drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, the merits of keeping seniors in nursing homes are undeniable. First and foremost, it is a positive way to improve their physical well-being. The elderly will receive round-the-clock nursing care from specialists; therefore, it is easy to take care of them in emergencies. Besides, nursing homes can be good places for the old's mental health. Some old people could feel lonely in their homes due to the generation gap and their offspring might also be too busy with their own work to spend time with them. Thus, being in a place with people of their age, they will have opportunities for socializing and will feel a sense of community.

On the contrary, the drawbacks of keeping the elderly in the rest home are inevitable. Firstly, the cost you pay for full-time care, up-to-date facilities, and well-trained staff in care homes is exorbitant. While some young people are now quite busy with some livelihoods to accommodate their costly living expenses, it is clearly hard for them to keep their parents in nursing homes for better conditions. Last but not least, being away from home, the elderly probably feel homesick. Once this happens, it can turn to unwanted depression and mental breakdown. In some cases, people suffering from brain diseases might even lose their memories about family.

In conclusion, while keeping old people in nursing homes can enhance their physical and mental health in some way, it is my firm conviction that the disadvantages, its costly price and potential depression from homesickness, are much greater.