Economic progress is an essential part of the development of a country, and many governments even consider it is their most important objective. However, some people argue that other kinds of progress are as important as the economic progress for a nation. From my perspective, while economic progress is essential, I agree that other forms of progress, such as social and environmental progress, should be considered equally important by the public and the government.

On the one hand, governments think that economic progress is the most important goal for serval reasons. First, the economy is the foundation of a country, which makes other types of progress become possible. Without an adequate amount of funding, public sectors like schools and museums can not properly operate. In addition, according to Maslow's theory of demand, the basic needs of people like food and water should be met first. These material needs can be directly met by a country achieving economic success. Moreover, the higher-level needs like education and social recognition will not even emerge if people living in extreme poverty. Therefore, economic progress is emphasized by many countries, especially developing ones.

On the other hand, other types of progress can not be ignored. I believe that they should be seen as important as economic progress. To begin with, the obligation of government is to serve its people, helping them to live better lives. While economic progress is one of the various approaches to achieve this goal, it is not the ultimate objective in itself. If a country only pursues economic achievements but ignores other types of progress, the people living there will not likely to benefit from the economic progress. For example, some shortsighted governments boost the local economy at the cost of pollution, ignoring the environmental and social problems it may cause. As a result, people feel disappointed in the government for ruining their homes.

In conclusion, while the progress of the economy enables other types of progress, I am deeply convinced that they are as important as economic progress.