Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The manner in which a country focuses merely on economic development has recently sparked a vigorous debate. Notwithstanding contested by many people that the matter of economic achievements playing a prominent role in the development policy of a country is highly beneficial, others argue that the progression of other society’s aspects might also be a significant factor. This essay will unravel both points of view before rendering my own perspective.

On one side of the argument, many people claim that the benefits of fostering the economic sector considerably outrank its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that economic development would bring people a wealthy and prosperous life. As an affluent country, the government has a better condition to enact policies as well as subsidy for education and public health for which their citizens entitle. According to a survey, for instance, reported that 90% of people, who inhabited developed countries, live longer than those living in undeveloped countries due to a lack of essential conditions for life. Besides, in terms of political status, being a rich country also means that it gains a powerful position when dealing with international affairs and core interests with other countries.

On the other hand, it is also to make an opposing case. It is an apparent fact that the progression of other aspects of society is a vital factor that impacts on sustainable development of a country. Developing the economy at all costs without protecting the environment and natural resources might lead to immensely unforeseen consequences. Researchers for RMIT university, for illustration, claimed that China was well on its way to becoming a runner-up country, which left a bad impact on their environment and created several irreversible contaminated lands and people are risking their life to reside there. Moreover, vastly exploitation of natural resources leads to forest destruction and landslides caused manifold catastrophes, which force people on the brink of death.

In conclusion, the aforementioned discussion illustrates how nuances that a country might encounter on its ways to develop, which makes it impossible to recommend a certain option. I incline to sustainable development, focusing on economic sectors along with supporting other aspects of society as well as protecting the environment.