The governments of many nations argue that their primary goal should be economic development. On the other hand, some people are object to this and believe that other types of progress have the equivalent importance for the country. I will deal with these two contrasting views and after that write my opinions.

Those governments emphasizing economic progress the most think that economic stability is the most required factor to fulfill the minimum requirements to live like a human being. To live at least in the standard way, clothes, food and habitat are necessary, which we can obtain only if the country focus on the economic development. For example, if everyday we are in a predicament of worrying about purchasing those life supplies because of lack of money, the government’s efforts to improve people’s economic status will be essential to increase the quality of their life.

On the contrary, there are other opinions insisting that the progresses other than economic progress should be also considered importantly. Only with economic progress, we cannot reach the valuable life and that is why we need other types of progress such as social and cultural one. For instance, we can find many people suffer from serious social issues such as suiciding in some countries, even though their country’s GDP is remarkably high. What these countries are missing are spiritual values which not economic but social or cultural development can fulfil.

I agree with that economy should be the priority in the country where even the basic quality of life is insured, however I think after reaching the some extent of economic level, the equal emphasis has to be put on social or cultural progresses.