Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that more and more stores have disappeared in the past few years. Personally, I believe this is attributed to a couple of reasons, and while it is bringing some benefits, I concur with the view that this is a negative trend in the long run.

I believe the contributory factors to the shutdown of street shops are intense competition between businesses and the rise of online shopping. Many small shops these days often find themselves in the face of tough competition for their consumers’ patronage. In fact, shoppers tend to prefer department stores where a wide range of consumer goods are available rather than small specialty stores. But perhaps the leading cause of this trend is that a large number of shops succumb to internet purchasing and shopping and ultimately vanish. For example, the prevalence of e-commerce websites like Amazon or eBay has caused the closing of many brick-and-mortar stores as people prefer a more convenient and economical way of shopping.

A more optimistic prediction is that online shopping in place of traditional stores will create a better shopping experience. From the financial and environmental perspectives, there will be noticeable reductions in transportation costs and environmental pollution. As no transport is needed with regards to making online purchases, not only do people save on the fuel costs but also exhaust fumes discharged into the environment are reduced. I, however, favor the view that street shops hold historical value, and being significant to a nation, their disappearance is a loss of cultural diversity. For instance, given the fast-paced development of e-commerce websites, future generations in Vietnam would not know how lively and colorful traditional shops had been.

In conclusion, I am convinced that street shops have closed down because of internet shopping and fierce business competition, and the drawbacks of this trend would outweigh the benefits.