Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both view and give your own opinion

People have different opinions as to whether physical or mental fitness is more crucial to career development in sport. Personally, I concur with the view that a combination of both produces the best athletes in the world.

Advocates of the ‘physical’ side may believe that maintaining good physical shape often results in a player’s career lasting longer and their better agility. One fundamental reason is that world-class players possessing physical advantages tend to exhibit spectacular performance even when being in their 30s. Another reason is the acceleration and speed of a player are one of the decisive factors with regards to success in many sports, such as tennis and badminton. In fact, agile players tend to play more aggressively and outplay their opponents. Perhaps the best example of this would be Lin Dan, currently one of the oldest and fastest players, who has still emerged victorious in most of the badminton tournaments in which he has partaken in recent years even though he has already been over 35.

People who think that mental fitness is of greater importance may be attributed to a player’s beneficial impact on themselves and their team as a whole. On an individual level, players capable of maintaining their composure under the pressure of frustration during sports matches tend to regain the advantage and win the matches. On a team level, an occasional burst of motivation from these individuals would recover the courage and determination of the whole team. I, however, hold a view that a blend of exceptionally good physical and mental shape would provide the optimum conditions for sports professionals to vault to the top. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo has been arguably one of the brilliant soccer players due to his endless stamina on the court and his incredible source of inner aspiration.

In conclusion, there are various ideas about whether success in sport is attributed to either excellent mental or physical shape, but I am convinced that the amalgamation of both is conducive to the career advancement of an athlete.