Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore Parents should strictly limit the time children spend in this way.

To what extent, do you agree or disagree.

Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore, parents should strictly limit the time that children spend in this way. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Thanks to technology advancements, human’s life has never been easier. However, children are beginning to turn to technological devices, which is believed to cause adverse implications to their health and behaviors. From my perspective, parental intervention is definitely a must.

To begin with, extensive use of television and computer could have serious repercussions for both physical and mental well-being of a child. Children who lead a sedentary lifestyle may have trouble maintaining concentration at school and are easily prone to a number of health problems. Moreover, those who have little chance to be exposed to the outside world at an early age are likely to face serious neurodevelopmental disorders, namely antisocial behaviors, depression and autism. As a matter of fact, parents should restrict the amount of time for television or computer and encourage their kids to take up sports.

Another reason could be that the early-stage development of a child should be not only about electronic devices alone, but also about relationships and interactions within the society. This helps them to enrich their understanding of the surroundings, discover their own strengths and weaknesses and weigh their own actions, which could lead to them maintaining good self-control that benefits the children’s life in the long run. Therefore, there is no doubt that parental guidance plays an indispensable role in instructing and orienting their children to prevent them from overusing the devices that could cause problematic behaviors such as vandalism and violent tendencies.

In summary, time limitation from parents for using electronic gadgets is absolutely recommended for the children’s sake. It is also worth considering that parents should spend more time with the kids to minimize the negative impacts mentioned above.