Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not by local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In recent years, the issue that local museums and historical places are preferred more by tourists than local inhabitants has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this problem is attributed to by a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to tackle this

Some reasons can be cited to explain the emergence of this problem. First, since the region's historical relics have become so familiar to the locals, they are no longer inclined to explore more. In fact, local communities have already known the historical information that is conveyed by the museums or heritage sites, such as war or war relics, through schools or mass media, such as television, radio, discouraging them from learning more about these places. Second, entrance tickets at some historical sites are expensive for the local people to afford. For example, in Dien Bien, a province in northwestern Vietnam, it is rather hard for the residents to make ends meet, let alone to spend money on visiting some famous historical attractions there.

There are some measures the government should adopt to tackle this issue effectively. First, with the view to galvanizing natives to pay more visits, local museums should modernize the ways of displaying items. For instance, museums should apply three - dimensional technology to display objects or information, which triggers the curiosity of not only tourists but also dwellers. Second, if historical relics offer discounts on tickets for local inhabitants, they will become an ideal destination for residents. This means that without worrying about additional expenditures, dwellers will want to visit historical sites in order to broaden their knowledge about their hometown as well as use it as a method of educating their children.

In conclusion, this case has some aforementioned culprits, but certain approaches can be adopted by the authorities to address this. By refreshing the exhibits as well as providing preferential treatment to residents, the museum and heritage sites can attract more visitors from the local areas.