These days, a lot of museums and historical locations seem to appeal mostly to tourists rather than locals. In this essay, I will discuss several reasons for this happening and measures to attract more residents.

Numerous causes are contributing to the low number of locals visiting museums and historical sites. Firstly, it is easy to understand that most of the local citizens have already visited such places and may already have a great knowledge of their own culture and history, so they do not feel compelled to return to them frequently. Thus, the vast majority of visitors are tourists. Secondly, many locals are willing to spending their spare time and vacations in destinations other than their hometown or nation, since they are more enthusiastic about learning about other cultures and histories than their own.

Although it does seem very tough to tackle the locals with their hometown’s historical areas situation, there are a number of solutions that might help them to accomplish it. For one, local governments can develop museums on a regular basis by rotating items and displays to encourage locals’ interest. Different exhibitions, focused on different subjects or areas of culture, maybe shown and marketed more occasionally. Furthermore, governments might be allowing residents full access to such locations may attract more local tourists. On account of this, citizens from local will definitely be motivated to come to historical monuments more and more because they may have to live on a budget. Therefore, they cannot purchase a museum’s tickets especially when the tickets are too extravagant.

To summarize, a huge number of historical attractions are lean towards visiting by tourists rather than residents from local. Even though this can be attributed to a host of problems such as the knowledge or the demand of the locals, we can still handle this issue by upgrade the museums and the historical areas or free entry to such places for local people.