Many museums charge for admission while others are free Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages

It is true that visiting several museums is not free of charge although there are still some of them employed free admission. This distinction has benefits and drawbacks. However, in my point of view, the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks.

Regarding the benefits, firstly, charging visitors would help the management to do maintenance for all the museum collections. For instance, in Museum Angkut (located in Batu City Indonesia) that exhibits various traditional transportations needs approximately 50 millions rupiah annually to clean up and to repair the collections. In addition, admission fee would help museums to develop its facilities like café, library, play ground and other entertainment facilities that would attract more visitors. For example, Cimory Museum in Indonesia reported to have more entertainment park and café that significantly increase their number of visitors. It is reported that the number of students who visited the museum in their holiday for education trip increased during a couple of years.

In spite of the benefits, admission fee also have drawbacks if it cost expensively. People would lost their interest in visiting museums if they have to spend more money. As a consequence, the main purpose of museums in educating people would not be fulfilled. Furthermore, if the museums belongs to private parties, it would not provide any financial gain. Also, if the museums managed by the government, they also have to spend more budget to cover the operational fee.

In conclusion, the benefits of employing admission fee for museums do outweigh its drawbacks. Hence, the governments or the private managements of the museums should consider affordable fee for people to enter museums.