Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening ? what are the solutions ?

It is obvious from looking at the figures by law enforcement agencies that only punishment is not the solution of crimes executed by criminals. This essay would analyze & discuss about the possible reasons as well as solutions of this re-occurring problem.

The first and worst reason is lack of quality education and poverty. To prove my point, wrongdoers are unknown about their moral & social responsibility towards society. They have no compassion, kindness & feeling while doing heinous crimes such as rape, kidnapping,human-trafficking and murder. Another concerning point is lackluster and indifferent attitude of the masses towards culprits. For instance, when the guilty comes out of the prison, people do not care about them, what to talk about giving them respect & dignity. As a result, they feel isolated, deserted and depressed. They want company as well as job so that they can live respectful life. When they face harsh and unfavorable circumstances, they become easy target of terrorists, money launderers, drug-smugglers and other anti-social groups. Moreover, Hand in glove with politicians and insatiable desire for wealth & power also incite them to commit crimes in no time as they are not afraid of law and legislation and become frequent prisoners.

The best way out is to provide moral education and organize job-oriented work-shops so that one can understand each-other very well, be humane and sympathetic . Plus, if they have any sort of skill, it would enable them to eke out their living as well as stress-free. For example, several kind of programs should be held by the governments of a particular country to improve the lives of the prisoners and to retrieve them in the mainstream. Another remedy to combat this problem is to have fool-proof system and its impartial execution. It is very common to see criminals to get off Scot-free in my country ( India ) because they do not have any fear of being caught and put behind bars. To justify, a recent study concluded that more than 30 percent Indian legislators are either directly involved in crimes or tainted somehow. Therefore, nexus between criminals and politicians needs immediately to be eradicated. The earlier it is possible, the better it is.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that social,emotional and economic support to petty offenders and enactment of stringent and unbiased rules for savage culprits could be very effective and panacea.