Prevention is better than cure. Out of country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree to the statement.

Health is, without doubt, crucial for everyone. Now the statement sparks a healthy discussion and argument whether a higher percentage of government budgets should be given to treatment or to basic facilities such as health education and other deterrent proceedings. I strongly agree to the latter because the evil must be nipped in the bud.

Along with multiple reasons, the first and most important is to provide safe drinking water and sanitation facilities. A larger proportion of people, especially in developing and under developing countries is victim of water-borne diseases such as malaria, cholera, dengue, diarrhea, and even cancer. For instance, World Health Organization, popularly known as (WHO) has recently revealed that unsafe drinking water alone causes around 2 million deaths annually. Hence, it is clear the problem is quite severe and needs to be addressed urgently. Moreover, people are unaware about in sanitation which is one of the most common problems to bring about several serious diseases. To prove my point, heaps of stinking garbage in villages, towns and metro cities are testimony of harrowing experience. Both water-logging and garbage are the breeding place for mosquitoes causing grave health problems for the residents. Therefore, it is advisable to spend money to make people aware about these booming concerns.

What is more, providing knowledge about living conditions, nutrition and revitalizing primary health care is an urgent call in order to meet the risks associated. These are the promoters of silent epidemics. To illustrate, Haryana government has started a campaign to teach students to wash their hands before they eat anything so that the bacteria and germs be destroyed before they become the reason of life taking diseases. A recent survey by renowned magazine concluded that Anemia, malnutrition and obesity are major diseases if healthy food is not eaten. So, the concerted action of the government is inevitable to root out these glaring problems. Another simple but powerful idea to meet the formidable challenges is to create awareness at grass root level. Opening health center and my safety my responsibility program are some of the laudable steps taken by the Haryana government to impart knowledge people need to lead a healthy and disease-free life. The initiative should be promoted across the country. Despite living in 21st century, a big chunk of population is deprived of common health amenities. People are still living in slum areas and unhygienic conditions causing deadly infectious diseases. Thus, it is not wrong to say that greater amount of budget to be spent to give basic health care facilities to the dwellers.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that I am not against the government move to ease people for their treatment, but providing primary health facilities and education ought not to be overlooked at any cost.