Topic 11: Some people say that online study is the most effective and convenient way to learn. Others believe that online study will never be as effective as learning at school, in person. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people assert that the best and most comfortable way to study is online, while others are in favor of school study. I, personally, believe that both have their own benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, the best part of online study is its flexibility. One can study anytime anywhere. For example, internet enables people to choose best tutors and educators from any part of the world to give them lessons, cutting-edge material and audio-video training. Students, also, have choice to get admitted in schools, colleges and universities globally and obtain degrees and diploma without attending them. A recent survey by the Babson Survey Research Group concluded that about 33 percent of college students are taking at least one course on-line and there is no more questions about its booming popularity. However, this is just beneficial for professionals, fast-learners and self-motivated students. It does not work as effectively with slow learners and less-motivated students. Exorbitant price and being disciplined for online study is another concerning factor. As such, it is beyond the reach for those who are poor, middle class and not disciplined.

On the other hand, going to school, college and university and study over there has its own merits. It is best option for slow-learners, less-motivated and careless students. Classes in schools and colleges are interactive and student-centered. For instance, if student is unable to pick up his lessons, he can ask questions again and again until his problems are resolved. Also, teachers and professors are there to motivate students and maintain discipline in class which is not possible in online training. Moreover, learning at school gives opportunity to students to mix up with others, talk to them and enjoy together which is an essential part of study. They can exchange their ideas and formulas as well. As a result, students feel motivated and rejuvenated. They can see in their classes that the students who take time in learning and grasping the lessons start getting better after some days. This gives hope to those who underestimate their ability and potential of learning.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that studying online and studying at schools are two aspects of a coin. Both have their own advantages but it depends on the type of students.