Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

A country's history is embodied in a large number of legally protected historic buildings. Some believe they ought to be demolished and replaced with modern ones. This essay will outline the importance of it, however, it should stand without improvement and progress.

First of all, it is obvious that preserving certain old buildings provides historical value of a nation to be passed down for future generations. Undoubtedly, it shows us how people live and survive in the past that supports modern people gaining a deeper understanding and utilizing it as a basic foundation of knowledge. The pyramid of giza construction, primarily slow-setting mortar, gives engineers inspiration to implement in present days. Furthermore, it can be developed as a heritage destination, escalating socio-economy aspects through worldwide tourism. For instance, Paris has a lot of historical buildings and receives greater regional income over a hundred USD every year.

Conversely, modernization of heritage buildings cannot be discouraged as this can achieve its sustainability to mitigate casualties from various disasters. Considering that, most worldwide ancient building structures have been renovated to be well-designed, reducing accidents of the collapse of buildings to residents. Moreover, this revitalization may foster a wider building purpose to enhance their existence. The extensive periodic control of Colosseum has shaped the structure getting better maintained in which it becomes a great fit for every occasion and function, transforming from amphitheater to a beautiful place for pre-wedding photoshoots.

In summary, it seems to me that maintaining old buildings brings more positive impacts including saving long-term historical value and generating area revenues. Meanwhile, the renovation of such structures can also be implemented to prevent building damage and engage in more functional prospects.