Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization?

Across the globe, a trend of several traditional cities turning into state-of-art places can be observed. While these areas offer a safe environment besides more job opportunities, their demerits of not only lacking the tranquil atmosphere but also uniqueness cannot be overlooked.

The revamped cities are, indubitable, more secure. This because of the improved architecture of the modern buildings, hi-tech road system with automatic traffic lights and CCTV cameras along with effective medical services. All these are resulting in lesser loss of life than before.

Moreover, the employment opportunities are more. Owing to the setup of industries in places lacking enough employers before, more youth has been able to join the workforce. For instance, has Gurgaon not gone through industrialization recently, it could not have provided thrice the number of jobs than those available there before. Consequently, with more income from taxes, these urban areas are adding to the national exchequer.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, the localities are deprived of their mental peace. Its reason is the surging competition among people, propelling them to work harder, or among organizations, creating high noise levels coming from production or construction sites, thus, causing psychological disorders for the residents. In a study conducted in numerous cities, the calmest people were found to be enjoying their time in older cities.

In addition to the peaceful environment, these lack uniqueness. With common technology used for all buildings and roads, outside travellers soon get bored of similar-looking areas, which adversely affects the tourism industry and the people involved in it.

In recapitulate, this essay has covered two areas: the upsides of modern cities, which include more safety and chances to work for its people; and their downsides, which consist of missing both peace and their own identity.