In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they by punished?

It is true that juvenile delinquency has been on the increase in some countries these days. Reasons for this worrying trend vary and there are a range of possible punishments that could be applied.

To begin with, the upsurge in crimes committed by children and teenagers results from several reasons. Firstly, an underlying cause is the recent economic recession which forces today’s parents struggle harder to make ends meet. They consequently find themselves having less or even no time to look after their children. This plight may result in these vulnerable individuals associating with bad peers to find other source of care and thus, children are gradually led astray. Secondly, social media also play a part. In fact, the Internet, televisions have been bombarding children and teenagers with increasing amounts of violence, nudity, hedonistic lifestyles and so on. This bombardment could make them think that drug abuse, sexual harassment, fraud for example, are socially accepted. Therefore, they unconsciously commit more crimes.

Punishments for young criminals are various. Petty crime offenders should be forced to perform community service or participate in vocational schools specifically for criminals. The length of punishments can be reduced if they show positive changes in attitude. These two options not only create more social values but also offer them a chance of turning over a new leaf. After being released, young offenders must be kept under observation for a period of time. As for more serious crimes like mass murder, perpetrators must be sentenced to life imprisonment. This will definitely ensure a safe environment for citizens, an important factor to achieve social stability.

In conclusion, there are many reasons behind the increase in juvenile crime rates and the above-mentioned punishments deserve further consideration.