In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people tend to stay at home watching sports rather than participate in the physical sport themselves during their leisure time. Due to this fact, some people start to believe that it’s the sports channels that lead to people becoming less motivation to go out and take part in whichever sport they may be interested in.To me, it’s understandable that people want to relax after a tiring and stressful day at work.

The question is, how many people want to stay active during their leisure time? If people want to relax during their leisure time, they will stay at home even if they don’t watch sports. On the other hand, some people consider participating in sports to be a way of releasing stress or to boost energy levels. People like this will always take part in sports during their leisure time, but these active people have one thing in common and that is that a majority of them will also watch sports too. Watching sports, for them, is very much a good alternative way to relax and still feel involved in sports from the comfort of their own home.

Take my brother for example, he likes to play basketball and is a big fan of the NBA. He plays basketball whenever he is available and even when he is alone, he still goes out to play and practice. However, when he’s home, the only tv programme that he likes to watch is the basketball channel. For him, watching basketball makes him feel exited like he’s actually on the court. Furthermore, he can also learn some key skills from the professional players,which gives him a catalog of skill to practice and use during his competitive games.

To sum up, whether people take part in sports themselves or not has nothing to do with watching sports on TV. The main reason should be whether people want to be active during their leisure time.