Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, using social media platforms to connect to people and around the world and access news has been a prevalent choice for most individuals. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this trend clearly surpass its merits. On the one hand, there are some benefits associated with keeping in touch and reading news over some social platforms. In the past, due to limited mass media, people had to use letters to stay in touch with their relatives or friends and to update the information, they would buy daily newspaper or magazines. However, thanks to technological advances, smartphones and other devices such as tablets, laptops, etc.. have been introduced with various apps to facilitate communication for users, helping them to stay in touch across geographic barriers. For example, my cousin has been studying in England for three years, and he uses Facebook to keep up with his family events and contact with his friends here in Vietnam. As for news consumption, those who have access to social media platforms can instantly update global and local news. For example, a storm called Yagi came to seven different countries in Asia and destroyed all the cities it passed by, so when people there used Zalo or Twitter, they could get immediate news about the process of that storm and its path to prepare for it. On the other hand, using social platforms would have some problematic implications that should receive more attention. Social media is widely popular and can be used anytime if people can access the Internet. Nevertheless, to use those kinds of platforms, they will have to sign up by filling in all their private information including their Gmail accounts and their phone numbers, etc. As a result, if the security is not safe enough, some hackers can get users' information and use that account to deceive users' family, friends or relatives and even use it to blackmail them if they want to get their account back. Besides that, long-term exposure to the screen can cause negative impacts on users' mental health such as anxiety and loneliness, and even result in reduced face-to-face interactions. Concerning news access, if each person is not aware of the situations all happening around them or they do not have knowledge about a specific hot topic, they will be easily influenced by fake news which has not been censored yet, leading to some antisocial behaviors. In conclusion, although it is true that with all cutting edge devices, they can help people to connect to each other immediately and real time updates during major events, I think that the negative aspects outweigh the benefits because it can cause the spread of misinformation, emotional toll and the privacy and security concerns."