Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport However it is still unpopular in many countries What are the reasons What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among wider population

Cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly means of transportation; however, there is a decrease in the popularity of travelling by bicycle. There are several reasons why this happens. This essay will look into the factors that lead to the trend mentioned, as well as a solution to the issue.

First of all, there is no doubt that cycling contributes to one’s health. Many people are keen on maintaining fit so they choose bicycles as a means of transport since it helps to enhance people's endurance and physical well-being. Another reason is that cycling is an outdoor activity that allows humans to breathe fresh air, which will increase the lungs' capacity. Moreover, cycling is one of the most environmentally friendly methods of travelling, as bicycles do not release any harmful gasses into the air. Furthermore helping to reduce the amount of carbon dioxide and thoroughly purify the air for people to breathe.

There are several factors that lead to the decline in how popular cycling is. One of the reasons is that there are no lanes for cyclists and bike riders. It is not safe to ride on big roads as there are many vehicles on the road. During rush hour, the roads can be extremely busy and many drivers tend to be impatient and try to find ways to encroach on the sidewalk or other lane to quickly get out of the busy road.

To tackle this issue, some solutions have been come up with. Firstly, the government should construct separate lanes for cyclists and bicycle riders only so that they can ride more safely. Another way to solve the issue is that organizations and the government should try to raise people's awareness of the advantages of cycling in their lives.

In short, I believe that it is every country's obligation to create cycling infrastructure in order to promote the benefits of cycling to their citizens