One of the most prevalent evaluation strategies is ‘pen and paper’ method which has been
implemented for decades. Opinions are divided on whether this procedure is a proper approach
or not. My own considered opinion is in favor of working out other alternatives due to some
existent deficits in this method.
It is argued that ‘pen and paper’ method is an accepted one worldwide since it could assess
students accurately. The results of such examinations have demonstrated students performing
well during the semester, mostly succeed in these tests as well. Providing students with a unique
structure of evaluation which could be deemed highly fair is another positive ramification.
However, not similar performance of individuals in ‘pen and paper’ exams due to anxiety is
among the pitfalls of it. Considerable numbers of intelligent students, in turn, fail to represent
their actual abilities in these tests.
In an effort to propose complementary methods, verbal assessment would be a viable approach.
Admittedly, some would claim that tests akin to this could not satisfy educational and
examination standards. Nonetheless, setting unique principals is able to address this issue.
Comprehensive knowledge of teachers regarding the abilities of their students could interfere
in/with the final result and would alleviate strains of them. My performance, as an illustration, in
verbal tests during the semester was noteworthy in contrast with final ‘pen and paper’ exams
wherein I always failed to acquire my desired grade. Accordingly, had I have had I had the
opportunity of taking such exams beside old-fashioned ones, I could have demonstrated my
competence to a great extent.
As the above makes it clear, pervasive though ‘pen and paper’ assessment methods are, in a
dynamic educational system old procedures should be modified to achieve legitimate outcomes.
For this aim, it is predicted that future schools will have implemented new approaches for
evaluation in coming years.