Many people believe that the increasing use of modern technology at work and in leisure is reducing people's creativity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the use of modem technology has become prevalent both in the workplace and people’">people’s leisure activities. some people worry that this action may decrease people’">people’s creativity. however, I disagree with this opinion.

Indeed, there are people who use modem technology in ways that do not develop creativity. These breakthroughs, especially in the field of internet, sometimes discourage users to explore their own ways of thinking and making. it is widely reported that students in many countries are using the internet to plagiarise — to use other people’">people’s work and present it as their own. it is often claimed that the case with which music and films can be downloaded for free may dissuade producers from making them.

however, this does not necessarily mean that the advent of technology era will ultimately ruin people’">people’s creativity in all the aspects. After all, in many occasions, technological developments allow people to produce further developments. The new-born techniques facilitate people’">people’s productivity and inspire them to think more deeply into various matters. For example, the development of the telegraph and the telephone contributed to the development of radio and the mobile phone, both of which enables many people to become more creative-finding and allow people to share music and video through various apps, such as Twitter and Moment. Since the mobile phone developed, people have been looking at ways of using it. we can now send text messages around the world and even-use our mobile phones to pay for things.

this new-found creativity is not only limited to scientists and technicians. computers allow people to express their creativity by writing books and articles to be published online. other people have discovered their artistic works though using relatively easy-to-use computer programmes such as Photoshop. we can even see this creativity in computer games. games such as “World of Warcraft” enable people to develop online characters using their creativity to accomplish tasks.

In conclusion, I believe that modern technology has given people the opportunity to be more creative. Most people have taken that chance, but there are some who have not.