It is true that protecting the environment has been becoming one of the hottest issues all over the world. Unfortunately, many people are still less care about it. There are could be several reasons why this is the case, and I suppose that individual can take steps to mitigate this potential problem.

To start with, individuals’ awareness is one of the biggest threats to the environment. Some people are lack of knowledge about the importance of protecting the environment, so their careless daily behaviors are ruining the environment day by day. For example, littering is a proof of human ignorance that they think there is no consequence caused by their small action. Furthermore, selfishness and carelessness also make people do the non-environmental behaviors. Although many sellers know that plastic bag is a non-degradable material, it is still common using to carry products instead of paper bag or cloth bag because of their own benefits. This behavior is not only harmful for the environment but also influencing on many others’ thought, especially children.

So, how to protect the environment effectively? There are several solutions for individuals to save the environment. First of all, they should put the waste in the right places and classify the kind of rubbish that will help waste treatment can be done easily. Secondly, governments encourage citizens to choose less packaging or products with degradable materials to reduce the impact of non-degradable materials. Finally, using public transportation instead of own vehicles everyday is also one of positive ways to control the amount of air emission in countries.

To sum up, lacking awareness and being selfishness are two main reasons why people cannot protect the environment effectively. However, I believe that it is the time for individuals to change their mind and do the right actions to make the environment better.