Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighbourhood, this should be the residents's responsibility; while others think, it shoud be the government's duty. What is your opinion?

There are those who think that protecting surroundings is the responsibility of individuals, while some feel that the government has the pivotal duty in this. To me, both points need to come together due to their each importance.

On the one hand, it is not undeniable that conserving the neighbourhood is a matter that everyone should concern about. The reason is, the environment is built by its people, if they want it to be clean and tidy, they have to make efforts to protect it; otherwise it will be a mess with the big problems. For instance, according to a study, India has seen the dirtiest country in the world. It is the result of the lack of residents's awareness about maintaining their neighbourhood. People seem to think that it does not matter to litter due to not realise the value of the environment. It could be seen that cleanliness of the surroundings depends on individuals' act. Therefore, they need to have an equal responsibility as the government

On the other hand, government plays a significant role in sustaining the environment. As an authority, government

could frame suitable policies that influence positively to people's acts in preserving surroundings. They can create stricter laws to cut down the number of litters, or encourage factories changing their location from urban areas to rural zones for decreasing the damaged effects of the polluted air, so on. For example, it is not an obvious thing for Singapore to become the cleanest nation in the world. With the strict law of environmental protection of authority (fine up to $1000 for smoking in public places, $300 for littering small items in the first time, etc.). Thus, each citizen compels to do that as a duty and obligation.

With regards to environmental issues, I reckon that the duty of government and residents should work hand in hand in order to maintain and preserve our Mother nature as much as possible.