Child rearing is unarguably not an easy job as it requires a huge amount of patience and determination. In most societies, child rearing is often associated with women's job, whilst some people opine that men has just an equal ability in this role. In this essay, I will explain why, while I agree that fathers' involvement in children development is important, women are still better able in parenting than men.

Firstly, women are often considered to be easier to adapt to their role as a parent because during pregnancy and afterwards, the changes in their hormone system facilitates their nurturing needs. On top of that, they also benefit from the physical proximity with their offspring, in which it is easier for a mother and her baby to be attached securely in this regard. Most of the time, even when the child has grown, the mother maintains the status of the primary caregiver due to her high engagement at home. For instance, in Indonesia, it is not uncommon for women to be a stay at home mother to raise children and take care of the household.

Regarding the fathers, nowadays more people have realized the importance of fathers' involvement in raising a child and its benefit for children's self esteem and social skills. Unfortunately, in most families, fathers still take more role as an authoritative figure, hence however involved they are in the process, they are still not as emotionally close to their children as that of mothers. In addition, their responsibility to support their family financially also limit their time at home and make physical proximity with the children exclusive. The instance can be seen in most families in Indonesia, where fathers, although they have become more involved in children development compared to the past, still can not be as involved as that of mothers due to the responsibility they had.

In summary, I believe that both mother and father hold important roles in raising a child, but in this case, women obtain several benefits from biological mechanisms to social expectation, that facilitate them to be an excellent parent more easily than men.