Many people keep dogs and cats as companions.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of pet ownership for the animals involved and for the community as a whole.

It has been a long-time tradition in human civilization that many people like to keep dogs and cats as their companions. However, caring pet in daily life always brings some advantages and disadvantages, both for the animal it self and for the community in general.

In consequence of being a part of human life, pet is usually well fed and cared. It is hard to find a dog or cat which lives along with human care dies because of suffering a disease, unlike those which live freely on the street which is highly vulnerable to some diseases. Furthermore, the community also get some considerable benefits. The relationship between man and pet could create a number of work fields, such as veterinarians, pet shops, and pet’s care centres. Rearing pet is also a manner for releasing pent-up stress for some people, and eventually might make community happier.

On the other hand, some drawbacks are also inevitable. It is evident that most of pets live restrictively indoor thus makes them insulated from their natural environment, and further possibly makes them stressful. Also, growing number in pet ownership will not only pick up much more cost from whom has dog and cat as companion, but also from public in general. Public expenditure is needed for realizing some adjustments in public facility, such as pedestrian ways, to accomodate people who want to walk around over the city with their pet.

To sum up, there are some benefits and drawbacks accompanying pet ownership. A good attitude and management from the owner and the community would be helpful both for maximizing the advantages and minimizing the disadvantages.