many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or a negative development ?.

Nowadays, owning to the startling pace advancement of the technology, people can get approach to news around the world as fast as possible. Therefore, many individuals are prone to use the Internet to gain updates in lieu of reading printed articles or watching TV news programmes. From my perspective, this tendency might have some unfavorable bearings.

On the one hand, there are some factors contributing to the prevalence of this trend. The most fundamental justification is that the Internet can contain a wider range of news compared to newspaper. For example, when searching on Google about the military conflict between Russia and Ukraine , there are thousands of apps emerged. As a result, news seekers have a lot of choices to read information relating to this topic. Furthermore, it can be time-saving to access to news via the Internet. To illustrate, it can take a person who is keen on using newspapers about 2 or 3 days to approach to the latest information as he has to wait for the journals to be printed and distributed. However, he only needs to spend a few second having the news appear in case he leverages the Internet.

On the other hand, a vast array of reasons have prevailed me on believing that this trend might be ominous in some aspects. Firstly, information containing in newspapers can be formal and very reliable compared to that on the Internet or some other apps because before being distributed, journals have to be verified deliberately by publishers. For instance, during Covid-19 pandemic in Vietnam, some people were penalized by the authorities since they had posted wrong news about the pandemic, which caused confusion among many inhabitants. Secondly, spending too much time on reading online news through electrical devices like smartphones or laptops may be hazardous to the eyes of users because some studies have proved that the green light emitted from these machines can trigger some optical illnesses like short-sightedness or long-sightedness. Thus, the less time people get access to online updates, the healthier their eyes are.

In conclusion, apparently, reading news via the Internet instead of using newspapers or TV news programmes can be auspicious in terms of satisfying the demands of humans in this modern civilisation, I would think that this trend might be fraught with a lot of pitfalls.