Many people now undertake extreme activities, from hang-gliding to mountain climbing.

Why do people risk their lives in this way, and do you think this is a good trend?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Intense activities are now becoming quite popular and many people start engaging in these risky sports, for example, hang-gliding and mountain climbing. People participate in these extreme sports for several reasons. Despite being an arguable topic, I believe this is a good trend.

There are reasons that more and more people are being attracted to extreme activities. First, people who are adventurous take part in these activities as their hobby. They are always willing to try new things to challenge themselves and explore the human abilities, for example, climbing enthusiasts. The second reason that intense sports such as hang-gliding to mountain climbing become popular is that people are seeking for a stress relive solution for the pressure of long hours of working. They want to have invigorating experience which can be found in these dangerous activities. For example, people travel to mountain landscape not only to enjoy the view and relax but also to join in the activities such as bungee jumping, hang-gliding or even hiking in the jungles to experience new things.

There's a flip side, of course. Where some see restrictions, others see opportunity. I personally believe this is a good trend since such activities provide benefits not only for national economics but also improve local living standard. Activities such as hang-gliding and mountain climbing are closely related to tourism business which contributes primarily to the economy of many developing nations. Consequently, as the activities become a trend, it helps to enhance tourism industries as well as generate enormous profits. Furthermore, these extreme activities should be supported to be a trend as it also ameliorates local living standards in terms of enhancing employment opportunities. Ha Long bay in Vietnam is a good example, having the many dangerous caves, it requires a huge labor not only to construct facilities for operate the business but also need local people who very familiar to the region to be tour guide. It provides jobs for majority local people with a generous salary.

In conclusion, people take part in many extreme activities not only because of their interests but also to escape from working pressure. For the reason mentioned above, I believe that extreme sport is a good trend as it provides benefits for the whole economy as well as for residents.