Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films Why could this be Should governments give more financial support to local film industries

Due to globalisations, after numerous foreign movies surges into local film markets in many countries, they unavoidably distract majority audience from the local films. There are several reasons for this matter, and I believe it is necessary for governments promote local films by subsiding the production industries.

There is no doubt that more money is invested, the more attractive features could be seen in films. Firstly, those blockbusters like “Avengers” series movies that received substantially abundant funds from sponsors and American government, involved the far-famed actors and actresses who of course, are the key selling points for worldwide audience. Meanwhile, those costly high technologies which created the exceptionally stunning action scenes and breath-taking pictures shoot at expensive locations, fundamental for these popular films to utilize. All these stunning features produced by big money inevitably pressure poor-budgeted local films.

The domestic film industries desperately welcome government’s support financially in order to produce more attractive movies. On one hand, film workers need money to purchase high-quality equipment, hire excellent directors, editors and movie stars. As a result, all these essential elements offer better chances of popular movies. The recent arising Korean film industries which received tremendous government funds demonstrate this success. Admittedly, the investment on movies can be massive, however, the revenue generated from top selling movies in local and even international markets is undeniably beneficial for national economics in the long run. The high-end films’ by-products like tourism may double or even triple the revenue. For example, after “Lord of the Rings” became the winner of “Oscar”, New Zealand government moved up to one of the most popular touristic countries and resulting economic boom.

In sum, financial power may necessarily secure a great success for film industries. With governments’ seriously financial supports, local films are capable of competing with foreign ones to draw a large audience’s interest back to their own cinemas. At the same time, governments will benefit from the large profits produced by these high-quality films and vice versa.