The debate over whether people should preserve historical customs and traditional life practices has been heated over the last decades. In my view, I firmly believe if any traditions and customs involving misconceptions and misbelieves should not exist anymore.

First of all, certain life practices in a traditional way have been proved unhealthy, and hence should be either modified or avoided. The old generations had their own beliefs on how to eat and live healthily, which were mainly based on life experiences not science. Nowadays, advanced scientific technologies have discovered that some of the practices can cause significant harm. For example, traditionally, many people fed newborns with water at birth as they assumed it was beneficial for hydration. However, science highly recommends that people feed babies with breast milk or infant formula solely because water interrupts formula intake and threatens the balanced environment for “good bacteria” growth in the gastrointestinal system.

Meanwhile, if there are some customs having underlying misbelieves, resulting in severe consequences such as brutal discriminations and even breaching human rights, they should be strictly prohibited. One sad story can be seen in some Indian remote villages. Because local people consider when women have their periods, they are too dirty to be kept in the house. To avoid bad luck and evil energy for the whole family, especially for their husbands, the poor women are restricted into a dark room with cold water, dirty foods, and poor sanitation. This practice not only physically causes women diseases due to bad hygiene, but also is considerably detrimental to their mental health and human rights.

Admittedly, the healthy customs and practices with valuable beliefs should be well-kept such as the family get-together traditions during Christmas and Chinse new year, as well as Thanksgiving to show gratitude to others. However, those carrying wrong believes and distorted values ought to be left behind and vanish forever.