Although significant progress has been made in recent decades, human society is still facing wars, violence, and conflicts. It is also obvious that current world leaders are still male predominating, resulting in the perception that with more female leaders, the world would be more peaceful. Such a proposal appears to be superficial, although it also implies some positive effects.

To begin with, this suggestion is based on a false assumption, that female politicians are more compassionate and peaceful. In fact, although females generally tend to have these calming personality features, it is not uncommon that female leaders have to be as tough as male counterparts, even tougher than them, in order to survive in the political world, an extremely challenging business with extensive stress and pressure. One of the major reasons that Hillary Clinton lost the US presidential election was that the voters were not impressed by her aggressive foreign policies, which may provoke another Gulf War.

Furthermore, it is very likely for the female leaders sometimes to make emotional decisions leading to contrary and negative consequences, like violence and conflicts, despite the fact that they are from good intentions. The current President of Germany is a well-known female leader who generously opened her loving arms and welcomed all refugees rushing into Germany. Unfortunately, the by-product of this so-called humanistic policy was numerous criminals, robbers and murderers also pouring into this peaceful nation, causing a dramatic rise in violence and severe criminals.

On the other hand, I agree that the roles of female leaders in politics are not deniable, because they are more collaborative and considerable. When there raise intense arguments and negotiation, they are great issues coordinators to help de-escalate tension. However, this does not necessarily mean that the female leaders will bring more peace or less violence to our world than the males.

In sum, I believe that only focusing on having more female leaders is too tunnel-visioned to be the key solution for wars and violence. What the world really needs is to have every single citizen proactively and heavily involved in making our earth more beautiful and our societies more peaceful.