Many people say that we now live in “consumer societies” where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing trend of mass consumerism in terms of material properties and social status in the society, whilst consumer culture plays a fundamental part in enhancing living standard. From my point of view, I personally believe that this phenomenon has its detriment as well as advantage.

It is indispensable for employee, who would do their best by creativity and significant innovation. As a regard, the increase of income is a principle elements in order to satisfy the need of commodities, which also reduces poverty and acquires better quality of life. Likewise, people can deny the fact that consumerism is the main driving force of economic growth. In another word, the increasing demand of dwellers would result in the rising supply by manufactures and consequently, the worlds’ commerce will more and more flourish. So, it is inevitable to refuse the positives of consumer societies.

On the other hand, there is a rise in people following materialism to status symbols; therefore the moral quantities would be affected. For example, if an individual achieving everything with regard to money and possessions find it not enough, they are definitely greedy and selfish. Moreover, extra amount of waste is created due to the over consumption of products. Nowadays, people tend to buy goods ceaselessly that they throw them away after using it few time, which is not only a waste of money and it is also a cause of environmental problem.

To sum up, a consumer society has made the majority of people more materialistic, which may lead to them going astray in their lives, while aforementioned phenomenon is still the major reason that the economy boosts of every countries and its citizens.