It is argued that technological advancements in means of communication are resulting in several drawbacks on social interactions. While such improvements can be a barrier to developing communication skills, I believe that they will facilitate users to conduct such activity more easily and effectively.

Undoubtedly, up-to-date technologies can hinder direct contacts among individuals. More specifically, the innovation used in intelligent gadgets such as computers or smartphones allows users to engage in chatting online regardless of time and place instead of taking time and effort to conduct face-to-face appointments. Without regular direct conversation, these individuals may be deprived from opportunities to develop their communicative skills. According to a survey in 2020, Vietnamese students preferred using social media such as Facebook or Zoom to work as a team to having a face-to-face appointment. Consequently, this leads to isolation and loneliness in societies.

However, modern technology enables users to conduct their communication more easily and effectively. Chief of these is that with an internet-connected laptop or smartphone, individuals can keep in touch with their family members and friends in minutes whenever and wherever they want for a cheap fee. In the past, conversely, people had to take longer to conduct such communication with the usage of letters or phones being charged quite a huge amount of fee. Additional, up-to-date technology has improved communication methods at the workplace. These days, workers communicate with clients and colleagues quickly via email while it took much longer in the past with the use of paper letters, telephones or having to organize a face-to-face meeting requiring time and effort. As a result, this can contribute to increasing work performance and outcomes.

In conclusion, while it is acknowledged that advanced technology can bring about isolation and loneliness to societies by disencouraging people from having face-to-face conversation, I maintain optimistic that its potential to facilitate effective and efficient communication methods outweigh the drawbacks. I am also convinced that judicious utilization of these improvements for genuine needs can lead to the maximum benefits for users.