Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past.Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

It is believed that informal language now is more commonly used in modern time than in the past. This phenomenon occurs as the result of the development of language in the contemporary generations and the prevalence of Internet and social media networks. I am inclined to the view that this occurrence brings more drawbacks than benefits in many aspects of life.

The trend of growing less formal language is happening due to 2 prime reasons. First and foremost, spoken language is much more preferable and easier to communicate in daily life. The reason for this inclination is that formality in language requires rules which are complex and adequate knowledge of the topic, consequently, using informal language is a way of avoiding mistakes in word using and grammar. Admittedly, the advent of Internet and social media platforms have generated outstanding changes in life, one of which is informal communication. There is a bunch of terms coined on the Internet as slangs and abbreviated words utilized in the light of their convenience. Most of social media platforms now attribute emojis and icons as a better way to express feelings and ideas.

However, the widespread use of informal language brings 2 primarily negative drawbacks. Firstly, the use of spoken language in school environment could affect the academic performances of pupils. These students can utilize less formal forms of language in their thesis or dissertation. This action sometimes shows less respect to markers, therefore, low results in academy is liable to inevitable. Additionally, informal language leads to less effective communication in particular contexts, especially, in enterprises. The utilization of this can show the disrespect to counterparts, which then influence to contracts between companies, and also break the validity of the documents, therefore, firms and individuals cannot reach their goals and profit.

In conclusion, the prevalence of spoken language occurs due to the devolving of language and the arrival of Internet and social media platforms. However, the widespread of this kind of language results in further drawbacks than benefits in academy and business context.