Being host city for international athletic events is wish of many societies in the world. However, some of them think that being host country cause more disadvantages than advantages. This essay will discuss both views supported with examples and state my opinion.

International sport events such as Olympic games, World cup and others are since Ancient age celebration of humanity, sport and peace. Every time during Olympic games countries involved in open war conflict stopped fights and let people celebrate this events. This is brilliant example of humanity from which not only hosting country and its population might benefit as everybody wish world peace. Secondly, hosting country will attract tourist from all parts of the world. Local businesses and tourism will be rapidly growing and country in general as well as local community will advantage from money spent during the championship.

On the other hand, sport goes along with excessive consumption of alcohol and illegal substances, which might be brought to hosting country by visitors. It is proven that alcohol and drugs are triggers to violent behaviour and sport fans might be current treat to community. Moreover, with presence of illegal drugs, local community which might be immune and never exposed could be in danger. Also, transmission of sexual diseases is more likely possible due to lack of self-control and alcohol or drug intoxication of fans.

To sum up, hosting world sport events brings advantages as disadvantages, in my opinion, I believe, that host international championships might benefit country more than real disadvantages and treats. It is proven, that economic situation of hosting country raise during an event and even before.