Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities.

Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent years, many people toil for overtime work, leading to compress leisure time. Undoubtedly, both pros and cons of working long hours are involved. Nevertheless, I believed that there are more disadvantages than advantages.

There are certainly positive aspects of working long hours. The key benefits for people is increasing their earning, it is commonly known that prolonged working is not only associated with a higher salary but also raise the company productivity. Therefore, people can achieve their material satisfaction. Furthermore, in this capitalist society, an abundance of wealth is also related to higher social status which will have more power to dominate or manage in company.

However, people always underestimated the working long hours drawbacks. One severe issue of extensive working hours is health problem, because of insufficient exercise, recent research indicates that people with sedentary are more likely at greater risk of cardiovascular disease and obesity. For this reason, they can not trace back to good health even they have time and money to spend. Moreover, in order to work for a long time, people need to sacrifice social activity and family time, in the long term they will find that their relationship between both friends and family seems to be increasingly distant even generated social phobia.

In conclusion, there is no denying that there are some benefits on working long hours, but it seems that the disadvantages is more crucial than advantages. From my perspective, nothing is as important as health, we should keep in balance between health, relationships, and working hours.